Discover Australia’s cities, states and territories

Discover Australia

Australia is known worldwide for its stunning natural landscapes and the unique flora and fauna which inhabit the country. In addition, it also features many large cities with diverse cultures. Australia is comprised of six states: Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia, and Western Australia. There are also several territories, including two on the Australian mainland: the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory.

Queensland is located in the northeastern area of the continent. Its capital and largest city is Brisbane. Every year in September Brisbane hosts the Brisbane Festival, a three-week-long cultural event featuring theater, fireworks, and many free events. Brisbane is also known as a major place to hear live music. For those more interested in getting in touch with nature, the famed Great Barrier Reef lies just off the coast of Queensland.

New South Wales, the most populous state, is also the home of its largest city, Sydney.

Sydney features many attractions, from the iconic Sydney Opera House and the nearby Sydney Harbour Bridge to its lush, relaxing beaches, most notably Bondi Beach, all combing to guarantee Sydney holidays are memorable vacations..

Lifestyle fashion retailers

Victoria, the smallest but second-most populous state, is in the country’s southeast. The capital is Melbourne. To appreciate Melbourne’s beauty, visitors can catch the view from Eureka Skydeck 88. Also located in Victoria is Phillip Island, where millions come every year to view Little Penguins come on shore.

Tasmania is an island located across the Bass Strait from Victoria. Much of Tasmania remains unspoiled wilderness, and over a third of the state’s land lies within parks, preserves, or heritage sites. Visiting Tasmania is great for those who love health and the outdoors: many beautiful natural destinations exist there waiting to be explored, such as Cradle Mountain or the Tarkine. A great diversity of flora and fauna live in Tasmania as well. The capital, Hobart, also offers some interesting historical sites.

South Australia’s capital Adelaide is a large, multicultural city. The state is otherwise sparsely populated, but features some major destinations for nature lovers, including Belair National Park and Warrwong Wildlife Sanctuary.

Western Australia’s capital Perth, like Adelaide, contains most of the state’s population. Lovers of food and recipes may have a special reason to trek to Perth: Delizioso Cafe, whose pizza was named the best in the world at the 2008 International Pizza Expo in Las Vegas. Western Australia, like the rest of the country, also offers a fascinating array of natural beauty.

The Northern Territory, whose capital is Darwin, features one of the most famous sights in Australia: Ayers Rock, also called Uluru. Other sites of interest include Kakadu National Park, Litchfield National Park, and Katherine Gorge.

Last but far from least is the Australian Capital Territory. Entirely surrounded by New South Wales, it holds the national capital of Canberra within its borders. Many national monuments and other cultural centers are to be found in Canberra, as well as government infrastructure such as the Parliament House and the High Court Building. The National Gallery, National Portrait Gallery, and National Library of Australia are all also located in Canberra.