Go to ...


LifeStyle Blog

RSS Feed

Geography of New South Wales

New South Wales is a state of Australia with Sydney as its capital, and is often abbreviated as NSW.
The three main cities from north to south, Newcastle , Sydney and Wollongong which all lie on the coast. Other towns are Albury , Broken Hill , Dubbo , Tamworth , Armidale , Lismore , Nowra and Coffs Harbour .
The state lies on the east coast of the continent , north of the State of Victoria and south of the state of Queensland . In the west is bordered by South Australia . The coast adjacent to the Tasman Sea . New South Wales has two Federal enclaves : the Australian Capital Territory (ACT) and the Jervis Bay Territory.

New South Wales can be physically divided into four parts:
– A narrow coastal strip, with a climate where the temperature ranges from temperate to subtropical at the southern coast to the border of Queensland.
– The mountainous areas of the Great Dividing Range and the highlands that surround it, including the Southern Highlands , Central Tablelands and parts of New England . Although the cliffs are not very steep, still covers many mountain peaks above 1000 meters, of which Mount Kosciuszko is the highest peak reaches 2229 meters.

– The agricultural plains, a large part of the surface part of the state. These areas are much less densely populated than the coast. This section includes the region of Riverina .
– The dry, desert-like plains in the far northwest of the state, unfit for settlement of any size.

It is the oldest colony of the former Australian colonies of the United Kingdom . The colony was founded in 1788 and originally comprised much more of the Australian mainland. At that time was called the western half of the colony of New Holland and the eastern half of New South Wales. New Holland was well managed from Sydney.
During the nineteenth century, large areas separated the British colonies of Van Diemen’s Land ( Tasmania ) ( 1825 ), Victoria ( 1851 ), Queensland ( 1859 ) and South Australia ( 1836 ) (which at that time the Northern Territory included) to form. These colonies and Western Australia voted in 1901 to continue together as the Commonwealth of Australia


About admin